Who are the Algonquins of Ontario?

[courtesy of the http://www.tanakiwin.com website]

The Algonquins of Ontario (AOO) are on a journey of survival, rebuilding and self-sufficiency – a journey of reconciliation. This journey began nearly 250 years ago when the first Algonquin Petition was submitted to the Crown in 1772.

 Algonquins have lived in present-day Ontario for thousands of years before Europeans arrived. Today, the AOO are comprised of ten Algonquin communities. These include:
• Antoine
• Greater Golden Lake
• Ottawa
• Snimikobi (Ardoch)
• Whitney and Area
 The ten communities are represented by sixteen Algonquin Negotiation Representatives(ANRs) who are elected by Algonquin Voters for three-year terms. The ANRs include the Chief and Council of the Algonquins of Pikwakanagan First Nation and one representative from each of the nine other Algonquin communities.
 Based on a Protocol signed in 2004, these communities are working together to provide a unified approach to reach a settlement of the Algonquin land claim.
The Algonquins of Ontario claim includes an area of 9 million acres within the watersheds of the Kichisippi (Ottawa River) and the Mattawa River in Ontario, an unceded territory that covers most of eastern Ontario. More than 1.2 million people live and work within the Settlement Area. There are 84 municipal jurisdictions fully and partially located within the Settlement Area, including 75 lower and single tier municipalities and 9 upper tier counties.
 Today’s Algonquins in Ontario share a history of common interests, traditions and needs arising from their common heritage.